New directors named at Jones Memorial Hospital in Wellsville

The president of Alfred State College and the co-manager of a Bolivar specialty equipment and services business have been elected to the Jones Memorial Hospital board of directors.

College head Steven Mauro, Ph.D., and Rhiannon Sisson, office manager in operation of Sisson’s Chain Saws & Stoves with her husband, Scott, joined the hospital board during its annual reorganization meeting, with Dr. Robert Gilfert stepping down after 10 years as a director.

New officers also were elected, with Karol Marciano of Andover replacing Rich Ewell as chairperson, Dan Johnson of Wellsville becoming vice-chair, Jenny Bilotta of Cuba, treasurer, and Mary Kate Cole, secretary.

Also serving on the board are Ewell, Samantha Gilkey, Ian Jones, and Jim Knapp, as well as UR Medicine representative, Michael Apostolakos, M.D., Stephen Goldstein, and Mark Taubman, M.D. Dr. Andres Rubert attends the meetings as the hospital chief of staff.
– – – – – – – – – –
Building Healthy Communities Through Healthy FamiliesTM is our focus at Allegany Hope, and this new, easier-to-read Allegany Hope Community News and Calendar of Events.

This focus includes providing information of value to our readers and encouraging individuals and families to help one another, one way of which is to join in our free community Information Ambassador initiative.

Volunteer Ambassadors assist in spreading the word about various areas of need which you, yourself, may have identified and have a passion for as it relates to greater community awareness, education and action that lead to positive impact in all areas of everyday life.

Learn more at or by contacting us at or (484) 435-0503.